Magyar Deutsch

Szentjóbi Szabó
A short family history:
The diploma of nobility The coat of arms Rhédey Ferenc
The Szentjóbi Szabó family is a noble family from Hungary. Szabó Mihály (Michael) worked as a tailor for Count Ferenc Rhédey de Kis-Rhéde, commander of the fortress of Nagyvárad (Oradea). Mihály was ennobled 1618 on Rhédey´s behalf by the Prince of Transylvania Gabriel Bethlen.
Szentjóbi Szabó László Martinovics Ignác Kufstein

The most famous member of the family is the poet, playwright and revolutionist Szentjóbi Szabó László (1767 – 1795). László has been Privy Councillor to Count Samuel Teleki, the governor of the comitate Bihar. Teleki spent a great part of his fortune for 40 000 handwritten and printed books and founded the Teleki-Bolyai library in Marosvásárhely (Târgu Mures).

László enthused for the ideals of the enlightenment and the french revolution. In 1794 he was sentenced to death, because of his participation in the Martinovics conspiracy against the monarchy. The sentence was later turned in to inprisonment in the fortress of Kufstein. He got ill in the prison, short time later he died.

Castle of the Platthy family. Monor-Újtelep templom. The thank-you letter for Pfeiffer´s library and the psalms.
The family connected with other historic families. Szentjóby Szabó Zoltán (1905-1966) founded the congragation of Monor-Újtelep (near Budapest) and built a new church. 1944/45 he rescued 5 jewish citizens and saved the library and the hand-written psalm-translations of his friend Pfeiffer Izsák (1884-1945), the chief rabbi of Monor. Pfeiffer was deported to the concentration camp of Dachau: He was the rabbi of the camp. Pfeiffer died 5 days after his liberation. During communism Zoltán devoted himself to his parish. He left 10000 books.

 

My branch of the family:

signet 1800 Grandfathers silver cigarette box with two saphires. Viennese work about 1910. My grandfather Georg at 1914.

My adolescent grandfather Georg (1898-1979) fought in the first world war and got first lieutenant. His war-experiences made him a pacifist.

1944 the germans invaded Hungary. My grandfather was the hungarian representative of the czechoslovakian shipping company and had to deal with the occupying force. He disliked the Nazis. He received them in his elegant office and explained them politely in excellent hungarian, that he was so very sorry, but he didn´t speak german. After a friendly coffee party he showed his dumbfounded guests the way out. Eventually the directorate got to know, that the representative didn´t speak any languages. They told him angrily to speak the languages he was payed for and to keep his political views for himself. In reality my grandfather spoke hungarian, german, english, french, czech, slovak, a little russian and read latin books.

The workers of the hungarian shipping companies sabotaged the evacuation of the ships of the danube to the Third Reich. The cargo of the ships helped to nourish the people of Vienna for 2 years, till 1947. (Hugo Portisch, Austria II.)

On the danube 1939 Hungarian Communist Party Communist election fraud 1947

In 1944/45 he re-established all political parties in the commune of Üllő near Budapest. He was also responsible for the maintenance of order and the reorganization of the commune.

At the hungarian parliamentary election 1947, the communists seized power by election fraud. My grandfather was in charge of the election at Üllő and arrested about 60 communist fraudsters.

During communism he couldn´t travel to western Europe anymore. He travelled every morning to Budapest by train. On his way to work he read an english book, on the way back he read french. He tried to exercise his now "useless" command of languages.

Im 1956 all leading hungarian employees of the czechoslovakian shipping company were dismissed. He still needed two years to his pensioning! He did not want to put up with that and litigated an unwinnable law suit against the communist Czechoslovakia.

He left us more than 5000 hungarian, german, english, french, czech, slovak and latin books. Grandfather bequeathed his love to literature only to my father. My father bequeathed it to me. I accepted it gratefully.



Thomas Szabó de Szentjób

Family & freinds

Home

Magyar English

Szentjóbi Szabó
Kurze Familiengeschichte:
Adelsdiplom Familienwappen Rhédey Ferenc
Die Familie Szentjóbi Szabó ist eine adelige Familie aus Ungarn. Szabó Mihály arbeitete als Schneidermeister beim Burghauptmann von Nagyvárad (Oradea / Großwardein), Graf Ferenc Rhédey de Kis-Rhéde. Auf sein Ansuchen hin wurde er 1618 durch den Fürsten von Siebenbürgen Gabriel Bethlen in den Adelsstand erhoben.
Szentjóbi Szabó László Martinovics Ignác Kufstein

Der berühmteste Mitglied der Familie ist Szentjóbi Szabó László (1767 – 1795), Dichter, Dramatiker, Spracherneuerer und Revolutionär. Er wurde Vizenotar des Komitates Bihar und geheimer Rat des Obergespans Graf Samuel Teleki. Teleki gab ein Großteil seines Vermögens für 40 000 Bücher und Handschriften aus und gründete die Teleki-Bolyai Bibliothek in Marosvásárhely.

László begeisterte sich für die Ideale der Aufklärung und der Französischen Revolution. 1794 wurde er wegen seiner Teilnahme an der Martinovics Verschwörung gegen die Monarchie zum Tode verurteilt. Die Strafe wurde in eine Haftstrafe auf der Feste Kufstein umgewandelt. Dort erkrankte er und starb kurz darauf.

Schloss der Familie v. Platthy Monor-Újtelep Kirche. Dankesbrief für die gerettete Bibliothek.

Die Familie verband sich mit anderen historischen Familien. Szentjóby Szabó Zoltán (1905-1966) gründete die Kirchengemeinde Monor-Újtelep und zeichnete sich für den Kirchenbau verantwortlich. 1944/45 versteckte er 5 jüdische Mitbürger und rettete die Bibliothek und die Psalmen-Übersetzungen seines Freundes Pfeiffer Izsák (1884-1945), des Oberrabbiners von Monor. Pfeiffer wurde im KZ Dachau interniert, wo er Lagerrabbiner wurde. Er starb 5 Tage nach der Befreiung. Zoltán opferte sich im Kommunismus für die Gemeindearbeit auf. Er hinterliess 10000 Bücher.

 

Meine Linie der Familie:

Petschaft um 1800 Grossvaters silberner Zigarettenetui. Wiener Arbeit um 1910. Mein Grossvater Georg 1914

Als Jugendlicher kämpfte mein Großvater Georg (1898-1979) im ersten Weltkrieg und brachte es bis zum Oberleutnant. Seine Kriegserlebnisse machten ihn zum Pazifisten.

1944 marschierten die Deutschen in Ungarn ein. Mein Grossvater mußte als ungarischer Repräsentant der Tschechoslowakischen Donauschiffahrt auch mit den deutschen Besatzern verhandeln. Er mochte die Nazis nicht. Er empfing die Besatzer in seinem eleganten Büro und erklärte ihnen freundlich in ausgezeichnetem Ungarisch, daß er, so entsetzlich leid es ihm auch täte, die deutsche Sprache leider nicht beherrsche. Nach einem freundlichen Kaffeeplausch komplimentierte er seine verblüfften Besucher wieder hinaus. Irgendwann gelang es dem Vorstand zu Ohren, daß der Repräsentant überhaupt keine Sprachen beherrsche. Sie machten Grossvater verärgert darauf aufmerksam, daß er gefälligst die Sprachen sprechen solle wofür er sein Gehalt beziehe. Seine politischen Ansichten möge er für sich behalten! Grossvater sprach in Wirklichkeit deutsch, englisch, französisch, ungarisch, tschechisch, slowakisch, ein wenig russisch und las latein.

Die Mitarbeiter der in Ungarn ansässigen Schiffahrtsgesellschaften sabotierten den Abtransport der Schiffe ins Deutsche Reich. Die Ladung der Donauschiffe trug bis 1947 wesentlich zur Ernährung der wiener Bevölkerung bei. (Hugo Portisch, Österreich II.)

Donauschiffahrt 1939 Ungarische Kommunistische Partei Kommunistischer Wahlbetrug 1947

1944/45 zeichnete er sich für die demokratische Neugründung aller Parteien in der Gemeinde Üllő bei Budapest, die Aufrechterhaltung der Ordnung und die Neuorganisation der Verwaltung verantwortlich.

Während der sogenannten "Blaue Zettel Wahlen" 1947 in Ungarn, als die Kommunisten durch Wahlbetrug die Macht an sich rissen, leitete mein Großvater, Mitglied der Sozialdemokratischen Partei Ungarns, die Wahlen in Üllő und liess über 60 kommunistische Wahlbetrüger verhaften.

Im Kommunismus konnte man nicht mehr ins westliche Ausland reisen. Grossvater fuhr jeden morgen mit dem Zug nach Budapest zur Arbeit. Auf der Hinfahrt las er englisch, auf der Rückfahrt französisch. So bewahrte er seine nun unnütz gewordenen Sprachkenntnisse vor dem Einrosten.

1956 wurden alle führenden ungarischen Mitarbeiter der Tschechoslowakischen Donauschifffahrt entlassen. Er hätte nur noch zwei Jahre bis zu seiner Pensionierung gehabt. Er wollte sich das nicht gefallen lassen und führte einen aussichtlosen Prozeß gegen die kommunistische Tschechoslowakei, den er leider verlor.

Er hinterliess uns über 5000 ungarische, deutsche, englische, französische, tschechische, slowakische und lateinische Bücher. Großvater vererbte seine Liebe zur Literatur nur an Vater. Vater vererbte sie mir. Ich nahm sie schon sehr früh dankbar an.



Thomas Szabó de Szentjób

Familie & Freunde

Home